Does life ever just bury you? It’s not necessarily a bad thing but somehow blogging just looses priority when that happens. I did manage to bake and cook ridiculous amounts but documentation and posting didn’t really happen. Anyway, for those of you interested, here’s a semi-complete list of what I cranked out:

  • Golden Vanilla Cake with nectarine and blueberry filling (Kenny’s Birthday Cake!)
  • Triple Berry, Vanilla Walnut, Blueberry, and Strawberry Scones (opening the Waffle Company)
  • Apple Cinnamon Muffins
  • Variety of Sockeye Salmon Sandwiches on whole grain artisan bread or flat-out wraps with any combination of lettuce, tomato, cucumber, red onion, Gouda, goat cheese and a yogurt, cream cheese, and fresh dill spread.
  • Applesauce Pecan Loaf with Raisins
  • Caramelized Onion Mini-Quiches
  • Wilted Spinach and Ricotta Quiche with Sun-Dried Tomatoes
  • Banana Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Blueberry, Goat Cheese and Walnut Salad with Poppy seed Vinaigrette
  • and of course, Roasted Butternut Squash, Sweet Potato and Onions with Rosemary (a no-fail side dish)

Whew and yum. Can I just say that I LOVE roasted squash and sweet potatoes? It’s just so, so good. I like it hot out of the oven, cold the next day, reheated, cooked to a mush, left crunchy, roasted to a crisp so it’s even a little burned… all ways! I seriously can’t get enough. You’d think it’d only be a good fall dish but that’s not the case at all.

The mini quiches were pretty good. I followed Baking for the Cure’s recipe (http://bakingforthecure.wordpress.com/2008/09/07/mini-quiches/) using the one for caramelized onion and they were really pretty good. The crust was just about perfect, the onion was nice and sweet (I really like the balsamic vinaigrette, brown sugar combo) and the filling was just what it needed to be. I was skeptical they’d work out as well as they did.

The Banana Chocolate Chip cookies surprised me the most. I’ve always wanted to use distressed bananas in cookies instead of bread and I can honestly say it worked out quite well. Chocolate chips added more richness than I wanted in the first place, but after the first cookies and upon reaching for my second I remembered that chocolate… not such a bad thing 🙂 Here’s the link to the recipe I used for those: http://bakingbites.com/2006/05/banana-oatmeal-cookies/

I also love baking bites. The origination of my food blogging addiction.

The scones I made were for the Waffle Company but those recipes were tasty so I’ll go ahead and post a them anyway:

Blueberry Lemon Scones

Ingredients:

2 cups Flour
1 – 1 1/2 cups Blueberries
1/4 cup Sugar plus extra for dusting
1 tbsp Lemon Zest
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
3 tbsp fresh Lemon Juice
1/2 cup Sour Cream
1/2 Stick Butter
1 tsp Vanilla
1 Egg – Beaten

Preheat Oven to 375 degrees

1. In a mixing bowl combine Flour, Sugar, Baking Powder, Salt and Lemon Zest
2. Cut Butter into squares and add to Dry Ingredients.
2. “Cut” the butter into the flour, using 2 knives or a pastry blender until
combined
3. Add Egg, Sour Cream, Vanilla, Lemon Juice and Blueberries and mix until
it just comes together.
4. Move to floured surface and knead softly until combined and form into a circle
about an inch and 1/2 thick.
5. Slice into triangles and place on a greased cookie sheet
-I actually don’t grease at all and use my Silpat over my baking sheet, my
secret to evenly cooked scones (or cookies, rolls, etc), even in my old oven-
6. Brush tops with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar.
7. Bake for Approx. 20-25 minutes or until just golden brown.

Vanilla Walnut Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup diced unsalted butter
1/3 cup half-and-half
1 large egg
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
2. In a bowl whisk together, the flour, baking powder, and salt making sure they are well combined.
3. Using a pastry blender cut the butter into the dry ingredients until you have you have a fine crumb
texture.
4. Add the remaining ingredients into the bowl and stir until the dough comes together. Roll the
dough into the shape of a disc about 8-9 inches in diameter, then slice it into 8 wedges.
5. Place the wedges onto the lined cookie sheet and sprinkle the tops liberally with sugar.
6. Bake about 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

I liked the vanilla walnut one as a baseline recipe but the blueberry one had more flavor I felt. I also liked baking the scones at 425 for 12 minutes gave them a crisp top with a still soft and suculent middle whereas the blueberry lemon one was more a consistent bite of pastry goodness throughout.

Here are some pictures.

Unfrosted Blueberry and Nectarine Filled Cake

Unfrosted Blueberry and Nectarine Filled Cake

Banana Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sockeye Salmon Sandwich

