A good friend of mine opened my mind to the best feature of NPR that even an anti-talk radio person such as myself can appreciate. It’s their food side (surprise surprise huh?) They list their top ten cookbooks each year and she kindly sent me the link to the article (for your enjoyment as well: http://www.npr.org/2010/11/16/131357002/2010-s-best-cookbooks-real-life-labors-of-love)

I looked through the article and checked out a couple of their excerpt recipes and found one from “flour” which used up extra egg whites, almonds, almond extract and heavy cream that I had been needing to finish off (you know how satisfying it is when a recipe calls for 1/2 cup of cream and you happen to have EXACTLY one half cup of cream left). This recipe was for Almond Macaroons with Bittersweet Chocolate Ganache.

So I went home, blanched some almonds, and made them. Initally the cookies were chewy (like taffy chewy, not softyummycookie chewy) and I was dissappointed. I put them in a container and brought them into work today thinking it’d be a good way to get rid of unwanted cookies. I kept thinking, how the hell did this woman write a cookbook let alone start a bakery? these are terrible.

Almond Macaroons

As it turns out these cookies are INCREDIBLE after they sit overnight. The cookie part softens, the gnauche melds with the waffer and oh. my. god. It’s bliss. Divine and luscious. These cookies are destined to be cut out into heart shapes and eaten on Valentine’s day alongside sliced strawberries and a nice brut champagne. All the sudden I’m wishing it were February instead of thefirst snowyday of winter.

Here’s the link to the recipe from the article; store it away for a few months and you’ll be glad you did. http://www.npr.org/2010/11/12/131276900/recipe-almond-macaroons-with-bittersweet-chocolate-ganache

